Whitecloffe Primary School Sub Page Headline Image o Children using iPads in Lessons

Cooperative Trust

The Governing Bodies of the following local primary schools: Badger Hill, Belmont, Chaloner, Galley Hill, Highcliffe, Lingdale, Lockwood, Handale and Whitecliffe, have changed their legal category from community to foundation school; and at the same time have acquired a charitable trust status, to be known as the East Cleveland Learning Trust. This trust, which is a co-operative membership trust, holds each school’s land and assets in trust, in this case with a strong mutual element; to work together as a group of schools to ensure the highest quality teaching and learning experiences to raise standards for all children in East Cleveland.

A Trust School is a local authority maintained school which is supported by a charitable Trust. To become a Trust school, schools must adopt their own foundation eg community schools need to change their category to become a foundation school. This Trust then appoints some of the governors to serve on the school governing body.

To access the report from the consultation period and to find out more details in regard to the aims and objectives of the trust  please click to the following links:


A Summary of the public consultation


A detailed report of changes to your school